Montana -

Big Sky, MT

By Caroline Samson, Special Contributor and GendronSki Group Leader

This particular ski resort is one of the world’s best-kept secrets. I never really understood why this amazing mountain remains so overlooked. The only plausible explanation seems to be the presence of another fabulous mountain on the outskirts of the area’s major metropolitan hub. Bridger Bowl Ski Area, located a few kilometres from Bozeman, seems to be the favourite among locals. So, while they flock to this closer resort to save themselves the longer drive, Big Sky is left to everyone else. Lucky us!

Photos of Big Sky typically feature Lone Peak which, as its name suggests, is a single isolated—and absolutely spectacular— mountain peak. As you approach this glorious structure, your legs will start to tingle with anticipation as you imagine yourself carving your way down its surface—and with good reason! At Moonlight Basin, the resort adjacent to Big Sky, you’ll have access to an unbelievable variety of runs, amazing turns, an insane vertical drop as well as acres upon acres of superb terrain and breathtaking views stretching as far as the eye can see (and, by the way—even if don’t plan on skiing Lone Peak, you should definitely make your way up to enjoy the view).

After the first few runs at Big Sky and Moonlight Basin, I was already quite taken with Lone Peak and its countless options of skiable terrain. There are marvellous green runs to start off the day on smooth corduroy, blues and blacks to get things moving and, of course, some fine steeps, glades, chutes and bowls that you’ll have almost all to yourself.

After winning me over with its great skiing, Big Sky conquered me with its quaint restaurants, both on the mountain and at the base. Take note: for a simple lunch on the slopes, the Shedhorn Grill is always a good bet—and a good place to run into some locals who might have a tip or two to share about the best spots to ski, and where you might find some fresh snow.

In fact, you’re sure to appreciate the friendly, warm ways of the locals pretty much anywhere you go in Big Sky: from the staff at the resort to hotels, bars, restaurants, shops, as well as the people and skiers of the place. I’ve never felt so welcome at a ski resort. It’s like the locals want you to share their love of the mountain, to appreciate it like they do. Clearly, it works, because I LOVE the place!



Interested in this Destination? Request a Quote!



GOLF COURSES


EXCURSIONS

PARCS NATIONAUX

SPECTACLES

Text from 2015-2016 ski magazine

larger than life!

By Paul Dubrûle, Ski Sales Director

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard Bernard Gendron mention how great Big Sky is—how it’s his absolute favourite place and the greatest ski resort in the States! Needless to say, after hearing him talk, curiosity eventually got the best of me and I set off to discover this Wild West mountain. It wasn’t long before I understood Bernard’s fascination, and instantly fell in love with this amazing ski area—one of the biggest in the U.S. since joining forces with Moonlight Basin.

It’s clear this place is all about the skiing. If you’re the type to take the first lift up in the morning and the last one down at 4:00, and get to bed early so you can rest up for the next day, then this is the place for you. However, if you’re into shopping and crazy après-ski parties, and love having a huge variety of restaurants and hotels to choose from, then I suggest you go elsewhere.

On this first trip to Big Sky, I took my good friend Mario Daniel along. What we both found the most impressive was the sheer size of the mountain and the incredible steepness of the terrain. As an added bonus, several north-facing slopes mean that skiers can enjoy lots of snow late into the season. Experts will love the Lone Peak bowl while more adventurous types can revel in the notorious Big Couloir. We personally headed to Headwaters Ridge, accessible on foot. The descents were certainly memorable, and many were actually pretty technical. Keep in mind that you’ll need some backcountry equipment essentials (shovel, AVD (avalanche victim detector) and probe) if you decide to venture out to certain sectors of the mountain. On the flip side, if you aren’t exactly the daredevil type, there are still lots of beginner and intermediate groomers for you to enjoy.

With Grand Targhee and Jackson Hole just a few hours’ drive away, Big Sky can also serve as your base for a ski safari adventure. And with Yellowstone National Park also just steps away, you’ll definitely want to explore all of the nature this larger-than-life area has to offer.

Fun fact: Big Sky is apparently one of U.S. President Barack Obama’s favourite resorts, and The Summit is generally his hotel of choice. Who knew?

.dont-removedont-removedont-remove

Ski stations Accommodations Snow Conditions
TEMPERATURE (CELSIUS)
Month Min. Max.
January -12 1
February -11 3
March -8 6
April -4 9
May 3 14
June 5 19
July 4 24
August 1 24
September -3 18
October -8 12
November -8 4
December -12 1

CONTACT US

450-373-8747
514-866-8747
1-800-561-8747

info@gendronski.com

Montana - États-Unis

Big Sky, MT

Big Sky

Par Caroline Samson, collaboratrice spéciale et accompagnatrice de groupes

Parmi les secrets les mieux gardés de notre planète ski, il y a cette station. Je ne saurais expliquer pourquoi cette magnifique montagne, qui domine, est si peu fréquentée! La seule raison qui me semble plausible est la présence d’une autre belle montagne près de la grande ville du coin. La station Bridger Bowl, à quelques kilomètres de Bozeman, serait l’endroit où de nombreux « Bozemen » et « Bozewomen » feraient leurs virages. Ces skieurs préfèreraient cette station, intéressante et plus proche, et nous laisseraient Big Sky, plus grand, mais plus loin de chez eux. Ce qui est tant mieux pour les visiteurs de Big Sky!

Les photos montrent le Lone Peak, ce sommet typique pointu et isolé, tout à fait spectaculaire. Plus vous vous en approcherez, plus le skieur en vous aura hâte d’y faire des virages et vous aurez les jambes qui démangent. Et avec raison. Au Moonlight Basin, station adjacente à Big Sky, vous aurez accès à une autre variété de terrain, à de beaux virages, un long dénivelé, des âcres et des âcres de piste et une vue à l’infini. (À ce sujet, même si vous ne voulez pas skier le Lone Peak, il faut aller y faire un tour pour la vue.)

Le Lone Peak et les nombreuses options du terrain skiable m’ont charmée dès mes premiers virages à Big Sky et Moonlight Basin. Il y a là de superbes pistes vertes pour entamer votre journée sur le velours côtelé; des bleues et des noires pour ouvrir un peu la machine et des pistes très pentues, des sous-bois, des « chutes » et d’immenses secteurs ouverts (bowls), sans presque personne autour.

Après m’avoir séduite avec le beau ski qu’on peut y faire, Big Sky a comblé ma gourmandise avec ses chouettes restos, sur la montagne et à sa base. À noter, pour un petit dîner pas trop sophistiqué à même les pistes, le Shedhorn Grill est toujours agréable. On y croise des gens du coin qui partagent parfois quelques suggestions de bons endroits à skier et où il reste de la neige fraîche.

Justement, ce qui m’a le plus marquée à Big Sky, c’est l’accueil et la gentillesse des gens partout où l’on va. Le personnel des hôtels, de la station, des bars, des restaurants, des boutiques… Mais aussi des gens et des skieurs de la place. Je ne me suis jamais sentie autant la bienvenue dans un centre de ski; c’est comme si les locaux souhaitaient nous partager leur amour pour la montagne et qu’on l’apprécie autant qu’eux. Bref, ça a fonctionné pour moi!



Intéressé par cette destination? Demandez une soumission en ligne !



PARCOURS DE GOLF


EXCURSIONS

PARCS NATIONAUX

SPECTACLES

Texte du magazine 2015-2016

 

Plus grand que nature

Par Paul Dubrûle, Directeur des ventes ski

Je ne compte plus les fois où Bernard Gendron m’a vanté la station Big Sky. Un vrai coup de coeur pour lui. À l’entendre parler, c’était un des meilleurs endroits où skier chez nos voisins du sud. Suivant ses conseils d’ami, je suis parti à la découverte de cette montagne au pays des cowboys. J’ai vite compris pourquoi il aimait tant ce domaine skiable, l'un des plus gros aux États-Unis depuis sa fusion avec Moonlight Basin. Ici, on vient pour skier. Si vous êtes du genre à prendre la première remontée le matin, redescendre vers 16 h, puis vous coucher tôt afin d’être en forme pour le lendemain, c’est la destination idéale pour vous. Si vous aimez le lèche-vitrines, les après-ski endiablés et une variété impressionnante de restaurants et d’hôtels, Big Sky n’est pas pour vous.

Lorsque j’y suis allé, j’étais en compagnie de mon ami Mario Daniel et ce qui nous a le plus surpris, c’est la grosseur de la montagne et l’inclinaison du terrain. Big Sky a l’avantage d’avoir plusieurs faces orientées vers le nord, ce qui permet de skier de la belle neige, même tard en saison. Les experts aimeront skier le Lone Peak Bowl et les plus téméraires se rueront vers le célèbre Big Couloir. Nous nous sommes aventurés vers Headwater Ridge, accessible à pied. Les descentes étaient mémorables et certaines étaient assez techniques. N’oubliez pas que l’équipement de hors-piste (pelle, DVA, sonde) est essentiel pour accéder au horspiste et que vous devez vous enregistrer auprès des patrouilleurs pour skier certains secteurs de la montagne. Pour ceux qui ne sont pas aussi casse-cou que nous, n’ayez crainte ! Il y a aussi beaucoup de belles pistes damées de niveaux débutant et intermédiaire. Big Sky, situé à proximité du parc national de Yellowstone, peut aussi être le point de départ d’un parfait safari ski, puisque Grand Targhee et Jackson Hole ne sont qu’à quelques heures de route. C’est l’occasion idéale de sillonner cette région plus grande que nature.

Fait cocasse : apparemment, cette station semble faire le bonheur du président américain Barack Obama. Ce dernier aime bien passer ses vacances à l’hôtel Summit at Big Sky.

...dont-remove

Stations de ski Hébergements Conditions de neige
TEMPÉRATURE (CELSIUS)
Mois Min. Max.
Janvier -12 1
Février -11 3
Mars -8 6
Avril -4 9
Mai 3 14
Juin 5 19
Juillet 4 24
Août 1 24
Septembre -3 18
Octobre -8 12
Novembre -8 4
Décembre -12 1

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

450-373-8747
514-866-8747
1-800-561-8747

info@gendronski.com