British-Columbia -

Kicking Horse

By Paul Dubrûle, Ski Sales Director

It’s been 15 years since the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort opened its doors, offering skiers one of the longest vertical drops in North America. To mark the opening at the time, the Gendron Travel team had planned a familiarization trip with group organizers and journalists. I still recall the look of amazement on their faces when they reached the summit. Everyone was so impressed with how big the area was, and with the view of the five surrounding national parks. For me, this marked the beginning of my love affair with this particular resort.Whenever I visit Kicking Horse, it feels like coming home.

Needless to say, the resort has changed and grown over the years, but my favourite go-to spots are always there, waiting. One of the reasons I love this mountain so much is the abundance of expert terrain. Even if you had the courage to tackle each and every run, it would be impossible to do it in a single week! There’s also the Terminator Peak sector which, since being added, has greatly contributed to the resort’s development. From there, you can access the Super Bowl and the Crazy Legs run. These two alone are worth the trip. But, if you take the gondola to the top, you can also try the It’s a Ten run, which is a favourite among intermediate skiers. As the name suggests, this particular piste is a smooth 10 kilometers stretch from top to bottom.

Kicking Horse is also known for its great accommodations. In addition to the usual slopeside condos and popular hotels in town, you’ll also find an array of boutique hotels that provide a unique experience. Quaint, comfortable, authentic and luxurious all perfectly describe these cozy lodgings. My love for this B.C. resort extends far beyond the mountain, however. The town of Golden has its own unique flair that I absolutely love.

When it’s time to head out for a drink or some down time, the tourists and locals (the latter’s outdoorsy lumberjack style making them easy to recognize) come together, and a great time is had by all. It’s the perfect opportunity to get them to share a few tips and suggestions about the area, and the resort. So, if you love mountains with that little extra edge, you’re sure to fall head over heels for Kicking Horse!



Interested in this Destination? Request a Quote!



GOLF COURSES



PARCS NATIONAUX

SPECTACLES

Kicking Horse, British Columbia

Accompanied by

February 10, 2018 to February 17, 2018


$ 2 095 1 695 / pers.
Read more »

Text from 2015-2016 ski magazine

kick it up a notch!

By Bianca Montpetit, Ski Travel Consultant

Known as the Champagne Powder Capital of Canada, Kicking Horse has brought sheer joy and delight to expert skiers for the last 15 years. Located in the Purcell Mountains between Banff and Revelstoke, this resort enjoys a larger-than-life reputation thanks to its huge and exceptionally challenging terrain.

During my stay at Kicking Horse, which I combined with Banff and Lake Louise as part of my ski safari, I had an amazing time—even though I am not an expert skier. After a few runs, I quickly realized that my sector of choice was the lower part of the mountain, aimed at beginner and intermediate skiers, rather than the top which caters to powder hounds in search of great couloirs (there are 85 in all!) and colossal bowls like the extraordinary Super Bowl added some 5 years ago. With only five lifts covering this expansive ski area, it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the trail map in order to make the most of your day.

Don’t be surprised if you experience varied conditions during the same descent. Also, in certain areas, it’s recommended you wear a backpack to hold your skis in order to safely get around. For skiers like me, runs like It’s a 10 (as in 10 km!) are a good challenge. You’ll feel the burn, believe me! After a few arduous runs, you’ll want to break for lunch at the everpopular Eagle’s Eye Restaurant at the summit. Its gourmet menu and panoramic views from the dining room are internationally renowned.

At the end of the day, some will enjoy the calm and quiet of deluxe slopeside accommodations while others may prefer a more standard hotel in Golden, where there is a little more action! The choice is yours! In short, a ski trip to Kicking Horse is perfect for those who like to kick it up a notch!

NEW for 2015 - 2016 :

Learning & Adventure Centre extended play: combining the Winter Sports School & Daycare has become a hub fostering a positive family environment.  We've created a consistent play zone and associated activities for kids and families staying on-resort.  The program runs mostly on weekends and holidays and include activities like snowmobiling display, the Euro bungee, inflatable bouncy castle, disco light tubing and free hot chocolate.

...dont-removedont-removedont-removedont-remove

Photo of Jocelyn Billette
Jocelyn Billette
Représentant à destination | On-site representative

Skieurs depuis ses 6 ans, Jocelyn a toujours eu un amour inconditionnel pour les sports de glisse ou même tous types de sports extrêmes tels que le rugby, le motocross ou même les compétitions de rodéo, et ce, encore à ce jour. Ayant skié tous les hivers de sa jeunesse les stations de Owl’s Head, Sutton et Jay Peak, il a su être habile autant en ski qu’en planche. Plus tard, il aura la chance de skier Salt Lake City et Banff, ce qui déclenchera son amour des stations de l’Ouest. Cet hiver, il élira son camp de base à Kicking Horse et a définitivement hâte de vous partager son amour des sports de glisse.  Sera à Kicking Horse jusqu’au 24 mars.

A skier since the age of 6, Jocelyn has always had an unconditional love for snow sports or any type of extreme sport for that matter, whether it be rugby, motocross and even rodeo competitions. Having spent every winter of his youth skiing at Owl’s Head, Sutton and Jay Peak, Jocelyn became as talented on a snowboard as he is on skis. He later had the opportunity to ski Salt Lake City and Banff, which sparked a love for Western resorts. This summer, he sets up camp at Kicking Horse where he looks forward to sharing his love of snow sports with all of you.  Will be in Kicking Horse until March 24.

Mountain School | Big Mountain Guide This product is recommended for Cruiser level and above Immerse yourself in Big Mountain Culture. The BMC will show you how to maximize the snow & access Kicking Horse’s ultimate terrain from a local’s perspective. Let our experienced guides show you the best kept secrets to feed your powder addiction and keep your adrenaline pumping.   Product options: Full day: 9:00am to 4:00pm Contact us for price and details  

Ski stations Accommodations Snow Conditions
TEMPERATURE (CELSIUS)
Month Min. Max.
January -13 -5
February -10 1
March -5 6
April 1 13
May 3 18
June 8 22
July 9 25
August 9 24
September 4 18
October 1 10
November -11 1
December -11 -4

CONTACT US

450-373-8747
514-866-8747
1-800-561-8747

info@gendronski.com

Colombie-Britannique - Canada

Kicking Horse

Kicking Horse

Par Paul Dubrûle, Directeur des ventes Gendronski

Il y a 15 ans déjà ouvrait le centre de ski de Kicking Horse à Golden avec un des plus grands dénivelés en Amérique du Nord. Pour cette occasion, l’équipe de Voyages Gendron avait organisé un voyage de familiarisation avec des organisateurs de groupes, et des journalistes. Je me souviens encore de leurs ébahissements une fois rendus au sommet. Tous étaient impressionnés par l’immensité du terrain de jeu et la vue sur cinq parcs nationaux. C’était pour moi le début d’une grande histoire d’amour avec cette montagne que j’affectionne encore particulièrement.

Chaque fois que je vais à Kicking Horse, j’ai l’impression de rentrer à la maison. Comme tout endroit, cela a évolué avec le temps, mais j’ai quand même su garder mes points de repère. C’est pour moi un sentiment réconfortant. Si je chéris tant cette montagne, c’est définitivement pour son terrain expert. On n’a pas assez d’une semaine pour skier tous les couloirs et encore faut-il avoir le courage de les skier. L’ajout du secteur Terminator Peak au domaine skiable fut un ajout considérable au développement de la station. De là, vous pouvez accéder à la cuvette alpine Super Bowl, et à la piste Crazy Legs. Cette zone à elle seule en vaut le déplacement. Qu’à cela ne tienne, la gondole qui vous dépose directement sur la crête est aussi le point de départ de la populaire piste It’s a Ten, s’allongeant sur 10 km. Cette dernière est la descente de prédilection pour les skieurs intermédiaires qui ne sont pas pressés, car ici on glisse longtemps.

Cette destination a aussi su se démarquer avec son offre d’hébergement unique. En effet, on y retrouve le classique condo au pied de la station et des chaînes hôtelières en ville, mais ce sont les petits hôtels-boutiques qui ressortent du lot.

Cachet, confort, authenticité et luxe ne sont que quelques qualificatifs pour décrire ces chambres douillettes. Mon coup de coeur pour ce centre de ski de la Colombie-Britannique ne s’arrête pas à la montagne. La petite ville de Golden a une saveur très locale qui me plaît énormément. Lorsqu’on sort en ville pour boire un verre ou pour manger, les touristes se mélangent aux locaux que l’on reconnait facilement avec leur style plein air-bûcheron très décontracté!

N’hésitez pas à les aborder pour leur demander des conseils sur la région et la station. Bref, si vous appréciez les montagnes qui ont du caractère, avec Kicking Horse vous serez comblé tout comme moi.



Intéressé par cette destination? Demandez une soumission en ligne !



PARCOURS DE GOLF



PARCS NATIONAUX

SPECTACLES

Kicking Horse, Colombie-Britannique

Promotion spéciale
Payez 5 jours de ski et obtenez-en 7!

En savoir plus »

Texte du magazine ski 2015-2016

Pour ceux qui n'ont pas froid aux yeux

Par Bianca Montpetit, conseillère en voyages

Surnommée la capitale de la Champagne Powder au Canada, Kicking Horse fait la joie des skieurs experts depuis déjà 15 ans. Située dans les montagnes Purcell, sur la route entre Banff et Revelstoke, cette station a la réputation d’être plus grande que nature, car ici le terrain est gros et les défis costauds. Lors de mon séjour à cette montagne, que j’avais fait en mode safari ski combiné à Banff et Lake Louise, j’ai passé du bon temps, et ce, même si je ne suis pas une skieuse experte. Après quelques descentes, j’ai réalisé que mon secteur de prédilection était le bas de la montagne, avec ses nombreuses pistes destinées aux débutants et intermédiaires. Le haut est, pour sa part, plutôt réservé aux friands de couloirs (il y en a 85!) et de bols de poudreuse.

D’ailleurs, le Super bol, ajouté il y a cinq ans, est apparemment vraiment super! Avec seulement cinq remontées mécaniques pour couvrir ce si grand domaine, il est bon d’étudier un peu la carte des pistes afin de maximiser sa journée. Ne soyez pas surpris de devoir redescendre jusqu’à la base et de skier des conditions variées lors d’une même descente. Il est aussi recommandé de skier avec un sac à dos sur lequel on peut mettre ses skis, car quelques accès demandent d’avoir les mains libres pour se déplacer en toute sécurité. Les skieuses comme moi ont aussi droit à du défi avec la piste « It’s a 10 », comme dans 10 km : de quoi vous chauffer les cuisses !

Après avoir skié autant de dénivelé, une pause dîner s’impose au célèbre restaurant Eagle Eye, situé au sommet de la montagne. Son menu gourmet et la vue panoramique de la salle à manger en ont fait sa renommée internationale. Une fois la journée en montagne terminée, certaines personnes aimeront le calme et la quiétude qu’offre l’hébergement de luxe au pied des pistes, tandis que d’autres préféreront un hôtel régulier à Golden, où il y a un peu plus d’action.

En résumé, un voyage de ski à Kicking Horse est parfait pour ceux qui n’ont pas froid aux yeux !

.........dont-removedont-removedont-removedont-removedont-removedont-remove

Photo de Jocelyn Billette
Jocelyn Billette
Représentant à destination | On-site representative

Skieurs depuis ses 6 ans, Jocelyn a toujours eu un amour inconditionnel pour les sports de glisse ou même tous types de sports extrêmes tels que le rugby, le motocross ou même les compétitions de rodéo, et ce, encore à ce jour. Ayant skié tous les hivers de sa jeunesse les stations de Owl’s Head, Sutton et Jay Peak, il a su être habile autant en ski qu’en planche. Plus tard, il aura la chance de skier Salt Lake City et Banff, ce qui déclenchera son amour des stations de l’Ouest. Cet hiver, il élira son camp de base à Kicking Horse et a définitivement hâte de vous partager son amour des sports de glisse.  Sera à Kicking Horse jusqu’au 24 mars.

A skier since the age of 6, Jocelyn has always had an unconditional love for snow sports or any type of extreme sport for that matter, whether it be rugby, motocross and even rodeo competitions. Having spent every winter of his youth skiing at Owl’s Head, Sutton and Jay Peak, Jocelyn became as talented on a snowboard as he is on skis. He later had the opportunity to ski Salt Lake City and Banff, which sparked a love for Western resorts. This summer, he sets up camp at Kicking Horse where he looks forward to sharing his love of snow sports with all of you.  Will be in Kicking Horse until March 24.

Forfait de l' École de ski de Kicking Horse: Ils vous montreront comment maximiser la neige et profiter de la totalité du terrain skiable de Kicking Horse de la perspective d’un résident local. Laissez nos guides expérimentés vous montrer les secrets les mieux gardés, afin de nourrir votre obsession de la poudreuse et garder votre adrénaline en éveil. Journée complète de 9 h 00 à 16 h 00 Prix sur demande.

Stations de ski Hébergements
.........dont-removedont-removedont-removedont-removedont-removedont-remove
Conditions de neige
TEMPÉRATURE (CELSIUS)
Mois Min. Max.
Janvier -13 -5
Février -10 1
Mars -5 6
Avril 1 13
Mai 3 18
Juin 8 22
Juillet 9 25
Août 9 24
Septembre 4 18
Octobre 1 10
Novembre -11 1
Décembre -11 -4

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

450-373-8747
514-866-8747
1-800-561-8747

info@gendronski.com