Niseko

JED_logo_small

 

By Jean-Luc Brassard, Special Contributor and Olympic Champion

Niseko is surely no longer the best-kept secret in the world. With its abundance of snow all winter long, averaging one metre per week, this magnificent mountain obviously attracts more than its fair share of powder hounds from around the globe. The popularity of the resort has brought many advantages including improvements to the lift infrastructure, more restaurant options, and an openness to foreign languages—which, needless to say, has made life that much easier for us tourists!

But, with so many visitors, you may be wondering if Niseko still has fresh snow to enjoy. I’m happy to say that this vast four-resort mountain has tons to satisfy skiers of every level, including some
easy-to-access secret spots that are sure to captivate even the most discerning of experts.

One of the high points of any trip to Niseko is decidedly that moment when you find yourself at the very summit of the mountain, where no lift can take you. After a short hike, when the weather cooperates—and when the patrollers allow—you can take in the spectacular views of the Sea of Japan on one side while, on the other, Mount Yotei, which happens to be an active volcano. After an intense photo-snapping session inspired by the beauty of your surroundings, you are ready to tackle your choice of two skiable slopes. Best of all, after your one-kilometre powder descent, both of these trails end at the base of the lifts, in sectors on complete opposite sides!

You’ll want to start over again and again, especially when the weather is cooperating. After all, if Niseko has this much snow, you’ll understand that it also gets its share of snow storms. Contrary to our low-pressure systems, which move quite slowly, those in northern Japan move incredibly fast. In a three-hour timeframe, you can easily experience sun, cloud, violent winds and… 20 cm of fresh snow!

That being said, temperatures are generally milder when compared to our Canadian winters, although the strong Siberian winds responsible for the abundant snow here can sometimes leave the most hardened winter sport enthusiasts feeling a chill.

Japan is obviously not the easiest destination to get to. But, it is guaranteed to be a unique escape. So, make sure you extend your stay long enough to discover all that this pristine, safe and very welcoming country has to offer.

Sayonara!

 



Interested in this Destination? Request a Quote!



GOLF COURSES


EXCURSIONS

PARCS NATIONAUX

SPECTACLES

Niseko, Japan

Accompanied by

January 18, 2018 to January 28, 2018


$ 4 995 / pers.
Read more »

Text from 2015-2016 ski magazine

 

Japow

By Brigitte Trottier and Frédéric Jean, Special Contributors Skiing in Japan is an incredibly unique experience we guarantee you’ll never forget. The charm of the Japanese culture and the sheer joy of skiing some gorgeous powder are just two of the reasons you are sure to love a ski vacation in Japan. Your trip will start off with a few nights at one of the downtown core’s magnificent hotels. This will give you a chance to explore Tokyo and discover all that Japan’s modern culture has to offer. Visit the most popular neighbourhoods or go off the beaten path— the choice is yours! Indulge in some local delicacies or try foods you’ve never seen or heard of before! This brief stay in Tokyo will give you enough time to shake off the jet lag, and satisfy your curiosity for Japanese culture before you are ready to hit the slopes. Next stop: Niseko on the Island of Hokkaido!

You’ve probably heard all about the everpopular “japow”—or Japanese powder— and now is your chance to experience it for yourself. You’ll have a blast skiing this superbly light and incredibly abundant snow. The cold winds from Siberia pick up moisture over the Sea of Japan to form snow clouds that leave an impressive blanket of japow on the mountain, day after day, all winter long. Niseko offers endless fields of powder accessible through a gated system which strictly controls access to individual areas based on the day’s conditions. And, the morning after a good snowstorm, don’t go searching for the nice mechanically groomed runs—tracks will already be made for you by the many, many skiers who have tackled the mountain first.

For a change of scenery and the chance to experience a playfully unique ski resort, you might want to spend a day at Rutsusu a tremendously vast ski area which, although lower in elevation, is known for its wooded valleys offering practically uninterrupted access to that fabulous japow. If your visit coincides with a recent snowfall (which is very likely), you will be treated to endless hillsides of untouched snow just waiting to be explored.

Both of these mountains are exceptionally well groomed, and every run will take you back to the highly efficient chairlifts or gondolas. Just use the easy-to-follow signs to find your favourite runs and enjoy a day of skiing at temperatures oscillating around –10 degrees Celcius.

The time spent on the slopes is only part of what makes this vacation so wonderful. You’ll also enjoy some fantastic après-ski time, starting with a dip in the hotel’s Japanese hot spring—or, onsen—which you’ll be addicted to in no time. After a relaxing soak, you can choose to dine at one of the hotel’s restaurants or take a shuttle and make your way off to discover cuisine as varied and enjoyable as the day’s adventures.

...dont-removedont-removedont-removedont-remove

Previous Image
Next Image

Ski stations Accommodations Snow Conditions
TEMPERATURE (CELSIUS)
Month Min. Max.
January -7
February -7 1
March -3 4
April 2 11
May 7 17
June 12 21
July 17 25
August 18 26
September 13 22
October 6 16
November 1 8
December -4 2

CONTACT US

450-373-8747
514-866-8747
1-800-561-8747

info@gendronski.com

Japon

Niseko

JED_logo_small

Niseko

Par Jean-Luc Brassard, Collaborateur spécial et champion olympique

Niseko n’est sûrement plus le secret le mieux gardé du monde du ski. Son abondance de neige tout au long de l’hiver, avec en moyenne une chute de neige d’un mètre par semaine, attire évidemment les fervents de poudreuse légère venant du monde entier. La popularité de l’endroit entraîne de nombreux avantages, dont l’amélioration de l’infrastructure des remontées, une restauration plus abondante, ainsi qu’une ouverture aux langues étrangères, ce qui facilite la vie aux touristes que nous sommes! Reste-t-il de la neige fraîche à skier? Bien évidemment! Cette grande montagne aux quatre domaines satisfait tous les calibres de skieurs, mais recèle aussi de petits secrets skiables faciles d’accès qui sauront combler les plus exigeants.

Un moment fort d’un voyage à Niseko est sûrement celui de se retrouver au sommet de la montagne, où aucune remontée mécanique ne mène. Accessible par beau temps après un petite ascension – lorsque les patrouilleurs le permettent – on peut y contempler la mer du Japon d’un côté, et de l’autre, l’immense volcan Yotei. Après une intense séance photo conditionnée par la beauté du lieu, deux immenses versants skiables dénudés d’arbres s’offrent à vous. Mieux encore, après une longue descente de près d’un kilomètre à la verticale dans un champ de poudreuse, ces deux itinéraires mènent au pied des remontées mécaniques, dans des secteurs complètement à l’opposé l’un de l’autre.

Après une telle expérience, l’envie de recommencer est légitime, d’autant plus que la météo ne permet pas toujours cette expérience. Effectivement, toute cette neige est aussi synonyme de tempête. Contrairement à nos systèmes dépressionnaires qui bougent relativement lentement, ceux du nord du Japon varient extrêmement vite. En l’espace de trois heures, vous pouvez connaître soleil, nuage, vent violent, et… 20 cm de neige fraîche. Ceci dit, le mercure est assez clément comparativement à nos hivers canadiens, mais les vents dominants en provenance de Sibérie qui amènent cette neige abondante peuvent refroidir les plus endurcis.

Le Japon n’est évidemment pas une destination de proximité. Ce voyage en est un de dépaysement garanti, et il est de mise d’allonger son séjour pour découvrir ce merveilleux pays propre, sécuritaire et très accueillant. Sayonara!



Intéressé par cette destination? Demandez une soumission en ligne !



PARCOURS DE GOLF



PARCS NATIONAUX

SPECTACLES

Niseko, Japon

Accompagné par

18 janvier 2018 au 28 janvier 2018


4 995 $ / pers.
En savoir plus »

Texte du magazine ski 2015-2016

 

Charme Nippon

Par Brigitte Trottier et Frédéric Jean, Collaborateurs spéciaux

Skier le Japon est une expérience unique dont vous vous souviendrez toute votre vie. Le charme de la culture nippone et le plaisir de skier dans de la poudreuse sans devoir la chercher sont les deux attraits de Niseko et ils feront de votre voyage ce succès tant espéré.

À votre arrivée au Japon, vous séjournerez dans un des magnifiques hôtels du centreville de Tokyo pour quelques nuitées. Vous aurez alors l’occasion de découvrir le lieu de rencontre de la culture nippone avec le modernisme en explorant Tokyo. Vous serez alors libre de votre itinéraire et de votre horaire pour visiter les quartiers les plus populaires ou les plus retirés, selon vos goûts. Déguster les délices locaux ou tenter des plats jamais osés seront sans doute des activités dont vous voudrez parler longtemps. Ce court séjour suffira à attiser votre intérêt pour la culture japonaise et aussi pour vous acclimater au décalage horaire. Vous serez fin prêt pour dévaler les pentes à votre arrivée sur l’île d’Hokkaido pour vous rendre à destination : Niseko !

On parle souvent de cette fameuse japow, un terme dérivé des mots anglais Japan et powder. Vous aurez un malin plaisir à skier une neige légère et combien abondante, vu les vents très froids en altitude, en provenance de la Sibérie, chargés à plein d’eau au-dessus de la mer du Japon et qui larguent un impressionnant manteau de japow, jour après jour presque tout au long de l’hiver. Le forfait donne accès au paradis de la poudreuse qu'est Niseko. Cette montagne offre de vastes champs de poudreuse accessibles par des systèmes de barrières dont les entrées sont strictement contrôlées selon les conditions du jour. Le matin d’une bordée fraîche, ne cherchez pas les pistes travaillées mécaniquement, elles le seront par les skieurs comme vous bien avant. Histoire de voir un paysage différent et une station touristique ludique, une journée de ski vous amènera à Rutsusu, un domaine skiable moins élevé, mais très vaste et surtout reconnu pour des vallons de boisés qui offrent un accès presque ininterrompu à la japow. Si votre visite coïncide avec une bordée récente, ce qui est fort probable, vous vous plairez à découvrir des flancs vierges inexploités jusqu’à la fin de votre journée.

Les deux montagnes sont exceptionnellement bien balisées et toutes vos descentes mènent à des chaises mécaniques ou des gondoles hautement efficaces. Il vous faudra suivre quelques consignes simples pour repérer rapidement vos pentes préférées et profiter de journées de ski à des températures trounant autour de -10 degrés Celsius.

L’expérience de ce voyage ne s’arrête pas à votre temps sur les pistes. L’après-ski devrait forcément débuter après avoir relaxé dans les bains thermaux, appelés onsen, et auxquels vous deviendrez accro. Si vous ne choisissez pas un des restaurants accessibles de l’hôtel, un système de navettes vous permettra d’accéder à des tables aussi variées et plaisantes à découvrir que vos exploits de la journée.


  Carnet du Ski La carte postale de Jean-Luc - La cour nippone est pleine | 13 février 2015 Poudreuse made in Japan | 21 janvier 2011 Le ski au Japon c'est pas Chinois! | 28 janvier 2011 Poudreuse japonaise: Tuba or not tuba? | 25 janvier 2013

.......dont-removedont-removedont-removedont-removedont-removedont-remove

Previous Image
Next Image

Prolongation de séjour au Japon :


Il est possible d’ajouter des journées à votre séjour avant votre semaine de ski et de profiter de l’occasion pour découvrir les attraits touristiques du Japon.

Cliquez pour plus de détails :
Tokyo 
Kyoto
Tokyo et Kyoto
Tokyo, Hiroshima et Kyoto

Stations de ski Hébergements Conditions de neige
TEMPÉRATURE (CELSIUS)
Mois Min. Max.
Janvier -7 1
Février -7 1
Mars -3 4
Avril 2 11
Mai 7 17
Juin 12 21
Juillet 17 25
Août 18 26
Septembre 13 22
Octobre 6 16
Novembre 1 8
Décembre -4 2

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

450-373-8747
514-866-8747
1-800-561-8747

info@gendronski.com